Vitality Blast: An overview

Vitality as the word suggests it is the state of being full of energy. Yes, of course, the cricketing world is full of it. Started way back in 2003 and this hits back a long way down the line is T20 BLAST. The competition was established by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) as the first professional twenty20 league in the world and is the top-level or top division competition over there in England. 

T20 Blast is now known as Vitality blast. It is a League cum Knockout tournament in which Leicestershire Foxes are the most successful team with three titles. This can be watched across Sky Sports digital platform.


 As when Benson and Hedges 50 Over Cup ended in 2002 something new was to be bought to fill in its spot and the idea of 20Overs Blast was chosen for several reasons mainly to gain popularity, boost up the youth towards cricket and it was a response to diminishing crowd and reducing of sponsorship over the time in that one-day competition and lastly it was to make cricket more exciting and fast-paced which was accessible and loved by fans.

First Game and the first season was a success for the Twenty20 Cup. And from there, a lot of changes in sponsorship have taken place from Twenty 20 Cup (2003-2009) to Friends Provident/ Friends Life T20 (2010-2013) to NatWest T20 Blast (2014-2017) than in the year, 2018 Vitality became the tournament sponsors after signing a deal for four years.


The competition format has 18 county teams from all over England and Wales who compete for the title while in a two-division format. In this, instead of three groups with ten games per team. There is North and South split into divisions where the teams play 14 matches over time. The top four from each group will then progress to the quarter-final stage in the final week of August this year, while the semifinals and finals will be played out on Finals Day in Edgbaston on 18 September.

North Division Teams:

Birmingham Bears, Derbyshire Falcons, Durham, Lancashire Lightning, Leicestershire Foxes, Northants Steelbacks, Notts Outlaws, Worcestershire Rapids, Yorkshire Vikings

South Division Teams:

Essex Eagles, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Hampshire Hawks, Kent Spitfires, Middlesex, Somerset, Surrey, Sussex Sharks


 2020 was a Covid hit Tournament in which Notts Outlaws emerged victorious against Surrey by six wickets in Edgbaston.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: