TNPL 2021- An Overview

The fifth season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) will be held in July and August. The T20 competition will be held behind closed doors, with Chennai hosting 32 games. The eight-team event is expected to be held at Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Coimbatore, and Salem. The TNPL is scheduled to take place from July 19 to August 15.

The decision comes after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in April granted state associations permission to hold the IPL on the condition that it did not overlap with the IPL 2021.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) opted against holding the event during the second phase of COVID-19. In addition to Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Saurashtra have requested permission.


Salem SpartansSalemSalemVijay ShankarVivo Chennai south distributor Selvakumar M
Chepauk Super GilliesChennaiChennaiKaushik GandhiMetronation Chennai Television Private Limited – Dailythanthi
Lyca Kovai KingsCoimbatoreCoimbatoreUnnamedLyca Productions
Dindigul DragonsDindigulDindigulRavichandran AshwinTake Solutions Ltd
Trichy Warriors (formerly Ruby Kanchi Warriors)TiruchirapalliTiruchirapalliSai KishoreRuby Builders
iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (formerly Karaikudi Kaalai)TiruppurTiruppuriDream Cinemas and iDream Properties
Siechem Madurai Panthers (formerly Madurai Super Giant)MaduraiMaduraiArun KarthikPooja Damodaran
Nellai Royal KingsTirunelveliTirunelveliCrown Forts Limited


20161Tuti PatriotsChepauk Super Gillies
20172Chepauk Super GilliesTuti Patriots
20183Siechem Madurai PanthersDindigul Dragons
20194Chepauk Super GilliesDindigul Dragons

The inaugural winners are the Tuti patriots led by Dinesh Karthik.

The Chepauk Super Gillies are the tournament’s most successful team. The team has won the championship twice. (2017, 2019).

“The league will be divided into three parts. We want to begin the league in Chennai because the number of Covid cases in the city is low. The matches would be played in two additional cities pending government clearance, and the final will be hosted in Chennai”                                                                                              – According to a TNPL official.

While the 2020 season was cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the Chepauk Super Gillies would be anxious to reclaim the title following a tight 12-run victory in the competition’s final in 2019. Meanwhile, Dindigul Dragons and the other teams will be attempting to dethrone the Chennai-based side.

One thought on “TNPL 2021- An Overview

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: