Men in blue: New chokers of ICC tournaments

Last month in June, New Zealand beat India to clinch the title of best in the test at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton. India has been great throughout the World Test Championship and was on the top of the table before the final and was the favourite to win the tournament. But after the loss under Virat’s captaincy, people started slamming the team and gave them the title of next chokers.

This title has stayed with the South African Cricket Team for a very long time, after their bad performances in the ICC knockout matches.

A decade of losses for team India

India have won their last ICC trophy in 2013, by defeating England in the finals of the ICC Champions Trophy. After that India has played in 5 ICC Tournaments from 2014 to 2019 and they have done superbly good in every tournament and has reached the finals 2 times and semi-finals 3 times respectively.

They always started the tournament as a favourite. But every time choked in the knockout stage. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the captain of the Indian team in 2 losses, As India lost 3 close tournaments under Virat’s captaincy.

Let’s take a look at some of the moments where the Indian team choked in ICC tournaments.

ICC World T20 World Cup 2014

The 2014 ICC World Twenty20 was the fifth ICC World Twenty20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament, that took place in Bangladesh from 16 March to 6 April 2014. It was played in three cities Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet.

Virat Kohli was the player of the series, with a good performance with the bat, scoring 319 runs. Sri Lanka won the tournament, beating India by 6 wickets in the final at Mirpur. India has performed well in the group stage, win every match in the group. They’ve defeated the South African team in the semi-final to meet Sri Lanka in the final as a favourite but lost by 6 wickets.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The final of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy was played on 18 June 2017 between Pakistan and India at The Oval in London, to determine the winner of the eighth edition of the ICC Champions trophy. Pakistan qualified for the final by defeating the hosts England convincingly by 8 wickets in the first semi-final at Cardiff in Wales on 14 June and reached their maiden Champions Trophy final. India, the defending champions, came into the final by defeating Bangladesh with ease by 9 wickets in the second semi-final at Birmingham on 15 June, to reach their fourth Champions Trophy final, a record.

Winner of ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan won by 180 runs, which was the largest margin of victory in the final of an ICC ODI tournament. Pakistan, who were underdogs entering as the lowest-ranked team in the competition, became the seventh nation to win the Champions Trophy, and it was their first ICC ODI tournament title since the 1992 World Cup, as well as their latest ICC title in any format since  2009 World Twenty20. It was also Pakistan first defeats India in an ICC event since 2009. 

Fakhar Zaman of Pakistan received the Man of the Match award for scoring 114. Shikhar Dhawan of India received the Golden Bat award for scoring 338 runs in the tournament while Hasan Ali of Pakistan received the Golden Ball award for taking 13 wickets; he has also adjudged the Man of the Series.

ICC World Cup 2019

India started their campaign with a win over South Africa, with the help of Rohit Sharma’s 122 off 144 balls. Which included 13 fours and two sixes.

Rohit then went on to score 5 centuries in a single edition of the world cup, setting a world record of most hundreds in a single edition of the world cup and he equalled Sachin Tendulkar’s record of six for most all-time at the event.

The batsman finished the tournament as the leading run-scorer, with 648 runs to his name.

The first semi-final between India and New Zealand was played at Old Trafford in Manchester. Batting first, New Zealand lost the opener, Martin Guptill, in the fourth over, having scored just one run. However, Indians found wickets hard to come by after that, as Kane Williamson combined with Henry Nicholls and Ross Taylor for partnerships of 68 and 65 respectively. Williamson managed 67 runs before he was the third man out in the 36th over, a score matched by Taylor when rain stopped play in the 47th over with New Zealand at 211/5 following the wickets of Neesham and De Grandhomme. No further play was possible on the day, so the match went into its reserve day. Taylor managed another seven runs to top-score for the Kiwis, who managed to get the score to 239/8 at the end of their 50 overs. The Indian chase got off to a poor start with India falling to 5/3 in the fourth over, with the top three batsmen all going for one run each, then 24/4 after 10 overs. After a small partnership of 47 runs for the fifth wicket between Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja was joined by MS Dhoni for a century partnership for the seventh wicket that left India needing 37 runs from the final three overs.

This game turned out to be MS Dhoni’s final game for India, he retired from all formats in August 2020. Once Dhoni had gone (run out), a late-order collapse saw New Zealand take the last four wickets for just 13 runs, sending them into their second consecutive World Cup final.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: