Why do teams have a different squad for a different format

The sports arena has changed from the past, but cricket is a multi-faceted sport it has three different formats like Test, ODI, and T20.
In the present situation, India is playing with two different squads in two different formats and locations one in SriLankan and the Test players will be in Uk.
Former Indian cricketer Rahul Dravid is leading as a coach in limited-overs cricket against Sri Lankan.
According to Rahul Dravid, he said “This is a unique situation in terms of the quarantine and travel restrictions. It is very hard to predict what is going to happen on a month-to-month basis (with COVID-19),” Dravid said at a virtual media interaction on Sunday.
“When the travel between countries becomes restricted this could be done in the short term. Whether it is a long-term solution? I am not sure. For that, we need to have more conversations with all stakeholders including other boards, sponsors, media rights, and so on,” he added.
“It does ease some pressure on the all-format players as it is becoming increasingly difficult for the same set of players to get through the restrictions that are in place,” he further said.
Hence it will be no long-term solution because pandemic things are changing in cricket.

On the other hand, teams have a different squad for the different format because there is a specialist in each format of Cricket who can play in Test T20 and ODI cricket.
Like team India Virat Kohli is leading the Test side in the UK.
India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Burmah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav.
This squad can destroy the English player on home soil in Test Cricket.

In ODI and T20 cricket Shikhar Dhawan is leading the squad against SriLankan
Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (v/c), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.
This squad can destroy the ODI cricket in SriLankan.

The T20 squad for India against SriLankan
Shikhar Dhawan©, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson(wk), Nitish Rana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy.
The big point of team India is winning each game in each format player, if we take an example of Virat Kohli who want to win each game in each Format in Test, T20, and ODI, while on the other hand if Virat Kohli leads only on Test side then India will cost in World Cup, he must continue in each format. There are some special players for each format. Hence teams have a different squad for different formats it will be very much difficult in the long-term process but worth experimenting with.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: