Boult and Williamson to not play in New Zealand’s first tour of Pakistan in 18 years

For the first time in 18 years, the New Zealand Cricket team is going to tour Pakistan, to face the hosts in 3 ODI’s and 5 T-20i matches. Beginning on 17th September, the ODI series between New Zealand and Pakistan shall begin, and the T20i series will follow 8 days later.

However, with the series dates clashing with the Indian Premier League, several players from New Zealand will not be available for the series as they will be in India playing in the IPL, the largest domestic cricket league in the world.

New Zealand will first face Bangladesh in a 5-match T-20i series before touring Pakistan. This will be its first series after winning the inaugural title of the ICC World Test Championship. 

Meanwhile, ICC Champions Trophy winner Pakistan is currently facing the ICC World T-20 champions West Indies in a Test series, after Pakistan beat the Caribbeans 1-0 in the 4-match T-20i series.

New Zealand and Pakistan have shown that they are two of the best teams currently playing, with both teams stacked with talented players in all aspects of the game. Both teams have won a world title, with Pakistan winning the ICC Cricket World Cup back in 1992, and most recently winning the latest edition of the ICC Champions Trophy. 

The Kiwis have made it into the finals of the previous 2 editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup, falling short both times, infamously losing the finals of the 2019 World Cup after making it all the way into the super over when the match was tied. However, New Zealand won the first-ever ICC World Test Championship less than 2 months ago.

The head-to-head results between Pakistan and New Zealand are quite close. Out of the 107 ODI’s that have taken place between the 2 countries, Pakistan has won 55 of them. New Zealand has won 48, and the remaining 4 matches ended in either a tie or a no-result.

In T-20i matches, the two teams have clashed 24 times, with Pakistan winning 14 matches, and New Zealand winning 10.

The last time Pakistan and New Zealand clashed was at the 2019 Cricket World Cup, where Pakistan ended up winning against the eventual finalists, finishing the close match in the final over.

The last time the two teams clashed in an ODI series was in November 2018, in an interesting 3-match ODI series. The series was a 1-1 going into the final game, which abruptly ended in a no-result, hence tying the series.

They also faced each other in 2 test matches and 3 T20i matches between December 2020 and January 2021.

Despite a very stacked team, players like Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Jimmy Neesham, Lockie Ferguson, and Tim Southee will not be playing the series as they will be playing in the IPL during this time.

Hence, the New Zealand team will be led by captain and wicket-keeper Tom Latham with players like Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Ish Sodhi, and several others. The squad for Team Pakistan however is not yet confirmed.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: