Comparing India’s World Cup winning teams from 1983 and 2011

There is a sound that is echoing throughout India these days. It is the sound that calls the ‘Men in Blue’ to accomplish a feat that they have been denied for the last six World Cups, urging them to recreate what they did in white jerseys over three decades ago on British soil. The game and the purpose are the same, but a lot has changed and grown through the years. In this article, we compare today’s “Men in Blue” to the “Men with Moustaches” of the legendary cricketing era. 

A comparison between players from two completely different eras would not be warranted under normal conditions, but these are unusual times in India. The optimism in the air across India, as well as the memory of the triumphant days of 1983, compel us to compare the current potential to the great past.

The Team

The 1983 World Cup winner team was comprised of

  • Mohinder Amarnath
  • Roger Binny
  • Kirti Azad
  • Kapil Dev (captain)
  • Sunil Gavaskar
  • Syed Kirmani (wicketkeeper)
  • Sandeep Patil
  • Madan Lal
  • Yashpal Sharma
  • Balwinder Sandhu
  • Kris Srikkanth
  • Ravi Shastri
  • Dilip Vengsarkar
  • Sunil Valson

The current 2011 WC squad includes

  • MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper)
  • Virat Kohli
  • Sachin Tendulkar
  • Gautam Gambhir
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Yuvraj Singh
  • Zaheer Khan
  • R. Ashwin
  • Piyush Chawla
  • Virender Sehwag
  • Ashish Nehra
  • Yusuf Pathan
  • Munaf Patel
  • Suresh Raina
  • S. Sreesanth

With the exception of 2-3 players, the 1983 squad was fairly inexperienced, but the 2011 roster features a decent balance of young and experienced players. The 1983 team had six all-rounders, four batsmen, three bowlers, and one wicketkeeper batsman, but the 2011 World Cup squad has two all-rounders, five batsmen, eight bowlers, and one wicketkeeper batsman.

As soon as the World Cup 2011 squad was announced by the Board of Selectors, most cricket pundits began comparing the 1983 victorious squad, drawing different analogies between now and then, and analysing every angle in such a way that the current Indian squad could be considered the favourites to win this year’s Cricket World Cup tournament.

The Skippers

Kapil Dev led the Indian team to victory in the 1983 World Cup. He was an outstanding all-rounder, a swing maestro, an explosive batsman, and an impeccable, emotive, and motivating leader who valued devotion above all else.

On the other hand, the fomer Indian captain, MS Dhoni, is a wicket-keeper batsman recognised for his intelligent batting as well as the rare unusual hotheaded smash when the moment calls for it. When it comes to leading the Indian squad, his calm demeanour, upbeat attitude, and professional captaincy are assets he brings to the table.

Plans and Strategies

The Indians were utter underdogs in the 1983 World Cup, but they are now the favourites. The team plan in 1983 was to limit the opposition to a reasonably low score and put up a modest total. They lacked the ability to set or pursue high scores. On the other hand, the current team is capable of both building a mountain total and chasing it down.

The Indian squad of 1983 depended primarily on all-rounders, particularly swing bowlers. The Indian squad of today is primarily reliant on their batsmen and spinners. Because the World Cup is being held in the Indian subcontinent, the team is expected to benefit from the dry and high-scoring pitches as well as an extremely supporting fan base.

Similarities and Differences

  • In 1983, the Indian cricket squad was largely inexperienced, whereas the 2011 team is well balanced.
  • In 1983, the Indian team was regarded as the underdog, but they astonished the entire world by becoming world champions. The Indian squad from 2011 is the favourite to win the World Cup.
  • The 1983 team was led by a capable, inspirational, devoted, and emotional Kapil Dev, while the 2011 team is led by the capable, professional, and composed MS Dhoni.
  • The 1983 Indian squad depended largely on all-rounders and swing bowlers, but the batsmen and spinners are the team’s strengths in 2011.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: