What are the rules for the most-awaited T20 World Cup 2021?

Photo Credit 1- News18.com

The one event that all the cricket fans from around the world are excited and eagerly waiting for is the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup. The tournament is scheduled to be held from 17th October and will conclude on 14th November 2021. The event which was supposed to be hosted by Australia in 2020 was shifted to India due to the pandemic, according to the announcement of ICC in August 2020. However, due to the rise in Covid-19 cases and reports of third wave incoming in the country, the tournament was again shifted and is finally being held in the United Arab Emirates.

What will be the format of the tournament?

The championship will consist of 45 matches in total in which 2 matches will be played as semi-finals and one final. The matches in the tournament will be played in two rounds. Round 1 will be played among the eight group stage teams which include teams of Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, and Papua New Guinea. These teams were selected based on the 2019 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier apart from Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Round 1 will consist of ten matches and the four teams from round 1 will progress to the Super 12. The Super 12 consists of the top eight ranked T20 teams in the world. The teams included are India, Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and West Indies. The Super 12 matches will start from 24 October 2021 and will consist of 30 matches which will be followed by three knockout games; two semi-finals, and the final.

The ICC on 16th July 2021 confirmed the groups for the tournament which were based on the team rankings as of March 2021:

Photo Credit 2- ICC Cricket.Com

The 20 over format of this game is the most favorite and the most-watched format of every cricket fan. The unpredictability of which team will win goes on till the last bowl of the match which makes it more exciting to watch. Let’s have a look at the general rules of a T20 format match:

  • In a full, uninterrupted match each bowler can only bowl four overs.
  • If a no-ball is delivered by any bowler by overstepping the bowling crease then the next delivery is known as ‘free-hit’. During this circumstance, the batsman can only be dismissed if he is run out or he hits the ball twice, or obstructs the field.
  • On the leg side, no more than five fielders can be assigned by the fielding team.
  • During the first six overs, only a maximum of two fielders can be allowed outside the 30-yard circle. This is also called powerplay.
  • After the first six overs, a maximum of five fielders can be allowed outside the 30-yard circle.
  • If the fielding team fails to bowl the 20th over within 75 minutes of the match the batting team will be given extra six runs for every over that is bowled after the 75 minutes-mark.

After the T20 World Cup was canceled the last year, it left all the cricket fans disappointed. However, when it was declared that the tournament will be hosted in UAE this year, it was like a sweet surprise for all the fans. With the tournament being just two months away, the excitement among the fans is increasing day by day and the curiosity as to who will carve their name on the cup is also building up. The Indian fans for sure cannot wait to cheer for the Men in Blue and are hopeful that this year the trophy will come home.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: