The Greatest Moments in IPL History

Adam Gilchrist: the most successful….bowler?

Credit: IPL

Yes, you heard that right. Adam Gilchrist holds a unique record that is nearly impossible to achieve, the distinction of being the perfect bowler.

This was the final match for the legend Adam Gilchrist, as he had planned to retire following the 2013 season of the IPL. Arguably the greatest wicket-keeper of all time, he was leading Team Punjab to a comfortable victory in his farewell match, as Mumbai Indians needed to chase over 50 runs in the final over, with just one wicket in hand.

Bowler Praveen Kumar switched places with Gilchrist who was going to bowl for the first time ever. He took a wicket off the very first ball, the only ball he had to bowl as he finished the Mumbai Indians batting order, ending his career with a wicket.

Along with his successful career as a wicket-keeper, Gilchrist can also officially say that he has taken a wicket off every single ball that he has ever bowled.

Injured Shane Watson 

Credit: India Today

After a slow start in the 2019 IPL final, it seemed like Chennai Super Kings slowly started to lose the game. Then Shane Watson turned the game around, just like he did the year before in the IPL final when he scored 117* as CSK captured their third IPL title.

Watson ultimately got run out at 80 runs, but his heroic innings are talked about to this day. Later it was revealed that Watson accomplished this amazing feat with a badly injured knee. Pictures from the match revealed the severity of his injury, as blood stained his trousers.

The fact that he continued to play despite such a serious injury, that too without letting anyone know shows just how tough Watson is, as that would become a defining moment in Watson’s career.

The Gayle Storm

Credit: Circle of Cricket

Chris Gayle is probably the greatest batsman in the history of the IPL. He made his IPL debut with a century and finished that year as the highest run-scorer of the tournament. The Jamaican has won the orange cap twice, in 2011 and 2013, and holds the record for the highest score in a single T-20 match with his unbeaten 175* off just 66 balls. 

In addition to that Gayle also holds the record for most centuries by a single player in the IPL with 6, and most sixes with 357, more than 100 ahead of the second-best player AB de Villiers.

The man regularly delivers memorable innings, while also breaking records. Even today at the age of 41, he’s shown just how dangerous he is with a score of 99 in this year’s edition of the IPL.

Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting

Credit: Sportskeeda

Both Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting are considered among two of the greatest batsmen of all time. The two highest run scorers in test cricket history were always known to play against each other as they were the most successful batsmen of their respective countries.

However, in the 2013 season of the IPL, fans got to witness a unique pair as both Ponting and Tendulkar represented the Mumbai Indians. The opening duo comprising two of the most dangerous batsmen of the past two decades was a blessing for all IPL fans.

“Dhoni finishes off in style” again

Credit: IPL

Saving the best moment for the end, with 23 runs needed in the final over, Dhoni is the perfect player one can expect to get the job done for the batting side. Well, he was the one on strike that night,

Rising Pune Supergiant needed 16 runs off the last 3 balls, and Dhoni smashed that ball for a strong 4. Now with 12 runs required off the last 2 balls, the only way to win is to go all the way for back-to-back sixes. 

That’s exactly what MS Dhoni did, smashing 2 huge sixes to win the match for his team. A helicopter shot off the final ball with 6 runs was needed to seal the win for RPS, as MS Dhoni did what he’s best known for.

One thought on “The Greatest Moments in IPL History

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: