RCB vs DC Preview

Credit: India.com

With the final matches in the group stage set to take place over the next few days, the stage is set for the playoffs which will begin later in the week. Concluding their matches in the group stage, the 2 teams who have already qualified, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore are set to clash.

Delhi Capitals have sealed their spot into Qualifier 1, making it to the playoffs for their third year in a row. Royal Challengers Bangalore too have qualified for the second year in a row and both teams have looked incredible over the last 2 seasons. 

Delhi Capitals will most definitely play Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 1, while Royal Challengers will face either Mumbai Indians or Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator.

Both teams have gone through consecutive rough seasons, with Delhi Capitals not finishing in the playoffs at all between 2013 and 2018, while RCB finished at the bottom of the table for 3 years in a row from 2017 to 2019.

RCB and DC have faced each other a total of 26 times, with RCB winning 15 of those matches. DC has won 10 matches and 1 match was registered a no-result. RCB won the matches against DC between 2011 and 2015, except for the 1 match which was a no-result. 

This year, however, RCB registered its first win over Delhi in 3 years, when the 2 teams first clashed in April. Losing its last 4 matches against Delhi, RCB registered a narrow 1-run win while defending a total of 171. DC skipper Rishabh Pant hit back-to-back boundaries in the last 2 balls which still wasn’t enough for Delhi.

Credit: The Indian Express

DC has several in-form players who throughout the season have ensured that Delhi stays at the top of the table. Arguably the most stacked team in the IPL today, DC which is led by wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant consists of openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan. Shaw has shown his form in the powerplay overs while Dhawan is among the highest run scorers of the season. Bowlers Avesh Khan, Anrich Nortje, and Kagiso Rabada too have contributed to the massive success of Delhi this year, with Khan being the second highest wicket-taker this season.

RCB led by captain Virat Kohli will have batsmen like wicket-keeper AB de Villiers, opener Devdutt Padikkal, and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell. RCB also has the purple cap holder Harshal Patel, who is on the road to break the record for most wickets taken in IPL history, as he is just 3 wickets shy of Dwayne Bravo’s record 32 wickets. Other key players for RCB include Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Dan Christian who have all played extremely well this year.

Credit: Zee News

Two of the highest wicket takers in this year’s season will be a part of tomorrow’s game, and it will be interesting to see how this match plays out. Both teams are yet to win an IPL title and are already a step closer to the trophy since they have already qualified this season. There is a chance that they might face each other once again in the playoffs.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: