BCCI Announced Squad For New Zealand T20 Series: Rohit to Captain India

As per the BCCI advisory, the All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. India are set to play 3 T20Is starting from 17th November 2021.

Rohit Sharma has been named as captain while KL Rahul has been named Vice-Captain of Team India for the in-home T20I series against New Zealand. BCCI on Tuesday announced the Indian squad for T20Is against New Zealand.

The 3-match in-home series of India will start on November 17 and end on November 21st. The match will take place at three venues in India which are Jaipur, Ranchi, and Kolkata.

Virat Kohli who stepped down from India’s captaincy of the shortest format of cricket has been rested for the three matches series.

Team India announced a 16-member squad for the T20I series. This includes 7 batsmen including 2 wicket-keepers, 2 all-rounders, and 7 bowlers. The key new additions from the squad that played the World Cup include Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been rewarded for his consistent performance in IPL 2020, IPL 2021, and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021. Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Axar Patel were reserved for the T20 World Cup, but are now a part of the T20I series. Venkatesh Iyer, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, and Avesh Khan are rewarded basis stunning performance in IPL 2021. Whereas Yuzvendra Chahal makes a surprise entry after being left out from the T20 world cup squad.

While a lot of people expected Shikhar Dhawan to be recalled in the shortest version of the game but the selectors have persisted with Ishan Kishan for the time being with Suryakumar Yadav being an automatic choice in the middle-order.

New Zealand have already announced their squad for the two Tests and 3 T20Is to be played in India. Trent Boult and pace allrounder Colin de Grandhomme have made himself unavailable for the upcoming two-match Test series against India due to the prospect of further time in bio-secure bubbles and managed isolation, said New Zealand Cricket (NZC) last week.

India vs New Zealand 2021 Schedule:

1st T20I: November 17 (Jaipur)

2nd T20I: November 19 (Ranchi)

3rd T20I: November 21 (Kolkata)

1st Test: November 25-29 (Kanpur)

2nd Test: December 3-7 (Mumbai)

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), K.L. Rahul (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel and Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand squad for T20Is: Kane Williamson (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi and Tim Southee

The committee also picked an India-A squad, led by Priyank Panchal, that will travel to South Africa from November 23 to play in three four-day matches in Bloemfontein.

India ‘A’ Tour Of South Africa 2021

Tuesday-Friday, 23rd-26th Nov 2021, 1st Four-day Match in Bloemfontein

Monday-Thursday, 29th November- 2nd December 2021, 2nd Four-day Match, in Bloemfontein

Monday-Thursday, 6th-9th December 2021, 3rd Four-day Match in Bloemfontein

India ‘A’ squad (for South Africa tour): Priyank Panchal (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, B. Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicketkeeper), K. Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: