The Ashes 2021-22: Things To Know

Image Credit: Getty Images

The 2021-22 Ashes Series will run from December 2021 to January 2022 and be held in Australia. Sydney has traditionally hosted the final Test of the summer but the New Year’s Test will now be the penultimate match with Perth given the honours to host the fifth and final Test from January 14-18.

The Ashes is likely to look and sound different this Summer with uncertainty around Australia’s borders meaning a lack of English fans and the Barmy Army able to travel from the United Kingdom.

England could end up starting favourites for the Ashes, given the amount of Test cricket they’ll have played compared to Australia this year, which was forced to cancel its tour to South Africa due to coronavirus.

Ben Stokes had initially been left out of the tour party named earlier this month as he continued his recovery from a fractured finger and an indefinite break from cricket to look after his mental health.

However, Stokes has now made himself available for the five-Test series that starts in Brisbane on 8 December, giving a massive shot in the arm to the chances of Joe Root’s team regaining the Ashes over the coming weeks.

Sam Curran is also missing after being diagnosed with a stress fracture of the lower back. However, Stuart Broad has been picked for his fourth Ashes tour after making an encouraging return from the torn calf muscle he sustained in August on the eve of the second Test against India. 

England are light on raw pace, with Wood the only bowler capable of bowling in excess of 90mph. They have also selected two spinners, with Dom Bess in the squad alongside Jack Leach.

Why is it called The Ashes?

This is going to be the 72nd Ashes series – which first originated in 1882.

The name of the cricket series was chosen after Australia’s first victory on English land in 1882. The British media publication at the time stated English cricket had died at the Oval and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”.

Australia and England alternate between hosting the series and being the tourists.

Previous Ashes series


Australia fought a 2-2 drawn series with England to retain the urn, having entered the series as the urn holders. It was the first time Australia retained the urn on foreign soil since 2001.


Australia enjoyed a comprehensive 4-0 victory over England in the 2017-18 Ashes series on home soil, making it three out of the past four series played in Australia that the visitors have failed to win a Test.

The ball-tampering scandal that took place in South Africa just two months after the series subsequently raised some questions over Australia’s dominance, however.

The Ashes Test Schedule

  • December 8-12: The Gabba, Brisbane
  • December 16-20: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  • December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
  • January 5-9, 2022: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
  • January 14-18, 2022: Optus Stadium, Perth

Ashes 2021-22 Squads:

England Squad: Joe Root (Captain), Ben Stokes, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Australia Squad: The Australian selectors are yet to name their squad for the Ashes 2021 and it is expected to be announced in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: