India to get 3 ICC events

Image Credit: ICC

On Tuesday, ICC confirmed the hosts for the eight tournaments after the ICC World Cup 2023, which would be held in India. A competition would be held every year.

The ICC Champions Trophy is an ODI cricket tournament. It was cancelled post-2013 edition, only to be restored following its success. However, after the 2017 edition, it was cancelled against the next year after which the cricket’s governing body decided to replace the tournament with the World T20 championship held every two years. However, it was once again restored in 2021 with the upcoming edition slated to be held in Pakistan in 2025.

Pakistan, who had won the last Champions Trophy in 2017, have not hosted many international matches in the country after the Sri Lankan team bus was attacked by terrorists in Lahore back in 2009. New Zealand, who were in Pakistan for a T20I series recently, abandoned their tour minutes before the toss for the first match citing security concerns.

England, who were scheduled to tour soon after, also cancelled their tour over security issues.

Pakistan had last seen ICC matches on its shores when it co-hosted the 1996 World Cup along with India and Sri Lanka.

As per the announcement, a total of 14 countries will be hosting the events during this phase. While most of the events would be jointly hosted by two or more countries, the highlight is the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 that Pakistan hosts. It would be the first ICC event in Pakistan since the 1996 ODI World Cup.

During this time, India will be also be hosting the three ICC events. While it co-hosts the ICC T20 World Cup 2026 along with Sri Lanka, it would host the ICC Champions Trophy 2029 entirely, followed by the 2031 ODI World Cup along with Bangladesh. The other host countries happen to be Australia, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Among the 14 nations, Namibia and the United States of America (USA) debut as the new host nations. The hosts were determined by a competitive bidding process overseen by Martin Snedden (Board sub-committee chairman), Sourav Ganguly (BCCI President), and Ricky Skerritt. After a thorough review, the recommendations were accepted by the ICC management.

“The men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030,” the global body said in a release issued after the board meeting. “An eight-team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. ICC World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game,” it further stated.

Upcoming ICC events Host (2024-2031)

  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: USA and West Indies
  • ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Pakistan
  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026: India and Sri Lanka
  • 2027 ICC Cricket World Cup: South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia
  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2028: Australia and New Zealand
  • ICC Champions Trophy 2029: India
  • ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2030: England, Ireland and Scotland
  • 2031 ICC Cricket World Cup: India and Bangladesh

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: