India v South Africa Test Series To Be Played Without Spectators

Image Credit: Daily India

The countdown has begun for India’s next test series against South Africa. A three-match test series will be played between India and South Africa.

The Indian team is in fantastic form, particularly in test cricket. In the test format, they have been an unstoppable force under the capable captaincy of Virat Kohli.

The Virat Kohli-led team has now gone on to triumph in some of cricket’s most difficult environments. In England, India recently defeated the English squad. In England, the men in blue were unstoppable.

However, the performance versus Australia in the Border Gavaskar Trophy in 2020-21 will remain more remembered. This was a watershed moment in Indian cricket, signalling the start of merciless dominance in the test format.

However, facing the Proteas in South Africa will be a difficult task. Furthermore, the men in blue have never beaten the Proteas in a test series in South Africa.

In South Africa, India had only three wins over the Proteas. However, things may be different this time, as Team India is poised to make history.

  • No Spectators, Only Cricket

According to a source, the first Test between India and South Africa, which begins on December 26 in Centurion, will be played without spectators because the host country’s cricket body is not selling tickets due to the development of the new COVID-19 variant Omicron.

The organisers, on the other hand, are waiting to see if government laws regarding COVID-19 alter next week. There are currently no tickets available for the second Test, which will take place on January 3 at the Wanderers.

“Please note that no announcement has been made regarding ticket sales for the next Test match between South Africa and India at the Imperial Wanderers Stadium,” the stadium’s official Twitter account tweeted.

“It’s unclear whether fans will be permitted at this time. We’ll make more announcements as time goes on.”

Following the discovery of the Omicron version of COVID-19 last month, the series is taking place in the midst of a growing COVID-19 danger. In the last several weeks, the number of COVID-19 cases in the country has increased dramatically.

The tour was previously in jeopardy due to the current situation, but the boards of both countries agreed to go forward with it. Cricket South Africa (CSA) stated on Sunday that the last round of the four-day franchise series, the country’s primary domestic competition, has been postponed due to COVID-19 concerns.

The guests, who arrived on December 16, are staying at a resort (Irene Lodge) that has been reserved exclusively for them by CSA in order to maintain a strict bio-bubble during the series.

India Test Squad: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

South Africa Test Squad: Dean Elgar (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Oliver.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: