Himachal Pradesh lifted its first Vijay Hazare Trophy. 

Image Credit: BCCI 

Himachal Pradesh played like a champion in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 final, defeating a powerful team like Tamil Nadu. Himachal Pradesh made history by winning the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the first time under the captaincy of Rishi Dhawan, while Tamil Nadu had to settle for second place under the guidance of Vijay Shankar.

The match was decided by the VJD method due to low lighting at the end of the game, and Himachal Pradesh was proclaimed the winner. Shubham Arora, the team’s opener batter, was instrumental in Himachal’s triumph, scoring an unbeaten 136.

●   A Good Contest 

Rishi Dhawan, the Himachal Pradesh captain, won the toss and elected to bowl first. Vinay Galetiya removed Tamil Nadu starter Baba Aparajith for just 2 in the fifth ball of the encounter, proving his choice was correct.

Dhawan came in as the first change and quickly dismissed the other batsman, Narayan Jagadeesan, who was caught behind by wicketkeeper Arora for just nine runs. Ravi Srinivasan Sai Kishore sought to right the ship for Tamil Nadu, but he, too, was sacked by Pankaj Jaswal, the medium-pacer.

Dhawan took his second wicket of the match when he dismissed Murugan Ashwin for 7, reducing Tamil Nadu to 40 for four in 14.3 overs. 

Karthik’s century was followed by Indrajith’s half-century as the two put on a 202-run fifth-wicket stand. In came Digvijay Rangi, who went for broke, giving 35 runs in three overs at an economy rate of 12.66. Rangi, on the other hand, ultimately broke the partnership when he dismissed Baba Indrajith for 80 runs off only 71 balls.

Karthik was removed in the next over after hitting eight boundaries and seven sixes at a strike rate of 112.62. Sidharth Sharma bowled an efficient spell of 34 for 1 in his ten overs and dismissed Karthik. 

Shahrukh Khan and skipper Vijay Shankar provided the final boost, scoring runs at will in the final overs. Tamil Nadu scored 314 runs in 49.4 overs. Himachal Pradesh batsmen were calculated in their approach in chasing the tough score, while Tamil Nadu fielders appeared concerned during the second half of the game. 

●   Great Batting By HP

Shubham Arora (136 not out) and Prashant Chopra (21), who came out to bat in response, put on a 60-run partnership for the first wicket. Following Prashant’s expulsion, Digvijay Rangi (0) expected Tamil Nadu to return without opening the account, but this did not happen. Shubham, Nikhil (18), and Amit Kumar (74) formed an excellent team to save the team.

In the end, he and captain Rishi Dhawan (42 not out) appeared to be leading the team to an easy victory. However, after bowling the third ball of the 48th over, the match was called off due to poor lighting and the VJD method was used. The state of Himachal Pradesh was declared victorious. This is how he won the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the first time. 

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 314/10 (Dinesh Karthik 116, Baba Indrajith 80, Shahrukh Khan 42; Pankaj Jaswal 4-59, Rishi Dhawan 3-62) lost to Himachal Pradesh 299/4 (Shubham Arora 136*, Amit Kumar 74, Rishi Dhawan 42*; Baba Aparajith 1/45) by six wickets via VJD method

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: