Who seems to be the winner of this year’s FIFA The Best Men’s Player award?

Since 1991, FIFA has been awarded the title of Best Player of the Year. FIFA and the French magazine Ballon d’Or co-sponsored the award from 2010 through 2015. Since 2016, football’s highest regulating body has been the only one to award this accolade. Lionel Messi, the Argentine wonder, has won it six times and is up for it again in 2021.

Messi is the overwhelming favourite to win the prized honour for a record seventh time, and he will face off against two other contenders in the final voting: Polish striker Robert Lewandowski and Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah. Let’s see how each of the nominees fared in the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year competition in 2021.

In the past year, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, and Mohamed Salah have all performed admirably for their respective clubs and countries. As a result, they’ve been nominated for the award for best player of the year. On January 17th, a virtual awards ceremony will be held in Zurich. Let’s take a look at how they did in 2021. 

●   Lionel Messi 

Argentina’s national team won the Copa America 2021 for the first time in 28 years, thanks to Lionel Messi’s outstanding performance. During the tournament, Messi scored four goals and provided assists on five others. Messi won his first international trophy with Argentina.

Apart from his achievements to the Argentina national team, Messi also assisted FC Barcelona in finishing in the top three of La Liga and winning the Copa Del Rey in the 2020/2021 season. Messi joined PSG in the summer of 2021 and has already made an impression in the UEFA Champions League with his new squad. Lionel Messi is currently the favourite to win the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year Award in 2021.

●   Mohamed Salah 

Mohamed Salah, a winger for Liverpool and Egypt, had arguably his greatest season in 2021. The attacker was a standout for Liverpool in the Premier League and the UEFA Champions League last season, and he has continued in a similar vein in 2022. For the first time in his career, Salah has reached the award’s final shortlist.

Salah played 45 times for his club and country during the time period under consideration, scoring 26 goals and assisting six times. As a creator for his side, he made 56 vital passes and created 12 great chances for his teammates.

Salah’s goals earned his team 16 points during that time frame, and he was awarded three man-of-the-match accolades. 

●   Robert Lewandowski 

Robert Lewandowski is a strong contender for FIFA’s Best Men’s Player award. The striker enjoyed a fantastic year, scoring 69 goals, the most by an individual player in a single season. With 43 goals for FC Bayern Munich, he also set the German Bundesliga record for most goals scored in a year. The Polish international was the winner of the prize the previous year as well, and this time he has a stronger case for it.

He has a chance to join Cristiano Ronaldo as the only player to win the FIFA Best Men’s Player title twice in a row. Despite finishing second in the Ballon d’Or rankings, Lewandowski was named Striker of the Year at the presentation.

●   Prediction 

After his incredible performance with Argentina’s national team, Lionel Messi will be slightly ahead of the other two finalists for the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award in 2021. During Copa America in 2021, Messi was Argentina’s most valuable player. In the meantime, Bayern Munich’s standout player last season was Polish striker Robert Lewandowski. Mohamed Salah, on the other hand, has been the driving force behind Liverpool’s attacking line for the past two seasons.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: