ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Fixture Reviews

India’s first Super 12 match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be held on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), with India taking on Pakistan.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 dates on Friday, with trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand slated to face Australia in the Super 12 opener on October 22 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

The tournament will take place from October 18 to November 13 in Australia, with 16 teams competing and seven locations hosting matches. Twelve of the 16 countries have already been confirmed, with Global Qualifying determining the final four.

●   India v Pakistan on the board 

England, New Zealand, Australia, and Afghanistan are in Group 1 of the ‘Super 12,’ while India, Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh are in Group 2.

The ‘Super 12’ will go off in dramatic fashion in Sydney, with New Zealand taking on defending champions Australia in a match between the two finalists from the 2021 T20 World Cup in the UAE. A day later, India and Pakistan will face off in one of the tournament’s most eagerly anticipated contests.

The Super 12 will last a fortnight, with the two groups expected to finish on the weekends of November 5 and 6. 

Aside from the Pakistan vs India and Australia vs New Zealand matchups, a smattering of other matches in the Super 12 round stand out as likely significant games.

When England and New Zealand meet at The Gabba in Brisbane on November 1 in their penultimate group game, the two teams will meet in a rematch of the 2021 semifinal. In addition, on the final afternoon of the Super 12 stage, Pakistan will meet Bangladesh in Adelaide.

The event will begin with a six-day group round, known as the First Round, which will identify the final four teams who will compete in the Super 12. 

In Group A, Sri Lanka and Namibia will be joined by two more qualifiers, while in Group B, West Indies and Scotland will be joined by two more teams from the Global Qualifier.

The First Round will include daily double-headers staged on alternate days at Bellerive Oval in Hobart and Kardinia Park in Geelong, with all Group A matches taking place at the latter, and all Group B matches taking place in the Tasmanian capital. All of the games will take place between October 16 and October 21.

The winner of Group A and the runner-up of Group B will compete in the Super 12, while the winners of Group B and the second-placed club in Group A will compete in Group 2. 

The first semifinal will be held at the SCG on November 9, followed by the second semifinal at the Adelaide Oval the following day. The final will be contested in front of a capacity crowd of 100,024 at the MCG.

The event will take place in seven different locations. Kardinia Park in Geelong will host six matches, all of which will take place during the first week of the competition, while Bellerive Oval in Hobart will host nine games in total, six in the first round and three more during the Super 12 stage’s first three days.

The remaining Super 12 matches will be hosted in Brisbane’s Gabba, Perth’s Stadium, Adelaide’s Oval, Sydney’s Cricket Ground, and Melbourne’s Cricket Ground. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: