The first phase of the Ranji Trophy starts on February 10th, with the knockouts on May 30th.

The first leg of the much-anticipated Ranji Trophy will be held from February 10 to March 15, before the premier domestic event takes a break for the IPL and returns from May 30 to June 26 for the knockouts according to BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

Shah’s letter made it plain that this will be one of the shortest first-class seasons in history, with most clubs playing only three matches, meaning that increased match fees will not influence the majority of teams who will be eliminated at the group league stage.

Each of the four teams has been split into eight elite groups, with the remaining six teams forming the plate division. The new pay scales provide players who have played 40 or more games per day Rs 60,000 per day, a huge increase above the old pay rate of Rs 35,000 per day. Those with 21 to 40 matches under their belt will be paid Rs 50,000 each day.

The event will be played over the course of 62 days, with the first phase consisting of 57 matches and the second stage consisting of seven knockout games, including four quarterfinals, two semifinals, and the final.

Rajkot, Cuttack, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Trivandrum, Delhi, Haryana, and Guwahati will all host matches in the elite group. Matches for the Plate League will be hosted in Kolkata, which will necessitate the construction of nine bio-secure bubbles for nine different sites.

With the exception of one, every team in the elite group will go to the quarterfinals.

In the only pre-quarterfinal, the plate toppers will face the lowest-rated qualified team from the elite group.

Last season, the tournament was cancelled for the first time, and this year, the BCCI was obliged to postpone the tournament’s scheduled start date of January 13 due to the third wave of COVID-19.

In March 2020, the country’s last red ball game was placed.

Ranji Groupings:

  • Elite A in Rajkot: Gujarat, MP, Kerala and Meghalaya
  • Elite B in Cuttack: Bengal, Baroda, Hyderabad and Chandigarh
  • Elite C in Chennai: Karnataka, Railways, J & K and Pondicherry
  • Elite D in Ahmedabad: Saurashtra, Mumbai, Odisha and Goa
  • Elite E in Trivandrum: Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Services and Uttarakhand
  • Elite F in Delhi: Punjab, HP, Haryana and Tripura
  • Elite G in Haryana: Vidarbha, UP, Maharashtra and Assam
  • Elite H in Guwahati: Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh
  • Plate in Kolkata: Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh

According to the current structure, a team can play up to seven matches at a time, with a minimum of three matches for at least 29 teams in the Elite and Plate Groups.

“To reduce the possibility of cross-transmission while also ensuring that bio-secure bubbles are not overburdened, the Ranji Trophy has been dispersed across nine different sites across the country. While the persistent virus has yet to breach the bubble, we have included some contingency plans based on our previous experience when designing this structure. “On Thursday, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah wrote to the state units.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: