What went down in India v West Indies’ 1st T20I ?

The celebrations for the ODI clean sweep aren’t finished yet, as the most entertaining and exhilarating T20 series between India and the West Indies has begun. The first Twenty20 International was held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on February 16, 2022.

India won the toss and was allowed to bat first. The decision to bowl was rational and beneficial because the game might be affected by dew in the final stages. 

In the first over of the game, Bhuvneshwer Kumar, the swing master, demonstrated his incredible swings. Kumar dismissed King in the first round itself. Following that, Kyle Mayers and Nicholas Pooran formed a successful 47-run partnership. This alliance, however, did not last long, as Chahal struck in the seventh over, and Kyle Mayers was removed.

●   Memorable debut for Ravi Bishnoi 

The spinners began to make a difference in the game. The debutant player, Ravi Bishnoi, got two wickets in short succession. West Indies were in difficulty, but a strong connection between Pooran and Pollard evolved, allowing them to set a reasonable target. Nicholas Pooran hit a half-century of brilliance. However, Patel took his wicket in the 18th over, preventing him from being undefeated. 

Pooran, who had kept the scorecard ticking along despite the attrition on the opposite end, was unaffected. Pooran opened up his shoulders now that Pollard was at the other end, and the West Indian struck a six and a four off Chahal to register his sixth T20I half-century.

Pollard, too, blasted a couple of big smashes, giving the visitors hope of a total higher than 170. However, those aspirations were quickly shattered when bowler Harshal Patel was caught at long-off by Virat Kohli on the final ball of the 18th over.

The 158-run target was reasonable. As a result, India began their innings with the intention of completing it as quickly as possible. Rohit Sharma had a fantastic game. He was primarily concerned with limits. Ishan Kishan, his partner, was in excellent form. Roston Chase took Rohit Sharma’s wicket, bringing their stand to an end at 64. (40 off 19).

India lost three wickets in rapid succession after he was dismissed: Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, and Rishabh Pant. Surya Kumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer, on the other hand, scored the winning runs. India wins by six wickets in the first T20 ( 7 balls remaining). 

Even though Virat Kohli is no longer captain, he was observed on the pitch being proactive. Virat Kohli was seen assisting Rohit Sharma with the review during the match. At the same time, Rohit Sharma is seen reviewing the former Indian captain’s statements, expressing complete trust in his words.

Team India and the West Indies played an ODI series before the three T20 matches. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Team India defeated West Indies 3-0. Rohit Sharma won his first ODI series as a permanent captain. Team India also leads the T20 series against the West Indies 1-0; if they win the second match, they will win the series. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: