Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans wins the IPL title in their maiden campaign!

The Gujarat Titans (GT) were crowned TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 champions on Sunday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad after defeating the Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 7 wickets.

Gujarat Titans won their first IPL trophy with a brilliant 7-wicket victory because of Hardik Pandya’s all-around effort. GT lost Wriddhiman Saha’s wicket early in the chase for 131 to win the final as Prasidh Krishna got through the opener’s defence and knocked the stumps down.

With the new ball, Trent Boult added to the strain by bowling a fantastic maiden over. Matthew Wade hit the first six runs of the innings before Boult took his first wicket, catching Wade inside the circle.

Image Credits: iplt20.com

Hardik Pandya joined Gill, but RR kept the ball tight and put pressure on them. At the midway point, GT was on 54/2 and needed 77 runs in the next 10 overs.

As the fifty partnership was approaching the third wicket, Pandya altered gears and added two fours and a maximum against Ashwin. With a magnificent delivery that turned sharply to remove the GT skipper, who was caught at the first slip, Yuzvendra Chahal ended the partnership.

GT were 97/3 when David Miller came in and took the burden off with his exquisite strokes, reducing the equation to 22 of 24. The next over yielded 13 runs, and Miller added two more fours.

Earlier, RR, who chose to bat first, remained intact, while GT made one change in the eleven, with Lockie Ferguson replacing Alzarri Joseph. After the GT pace attacks put pressure on the new ball, the RR openers – Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal – began conservatively with the bat.

Before the RR opener was caught by Sai Kishore off Yash Dayal’s bowling in the fourth over, Jaiswal was on fire with two sixes. As RR went to 45/1 at the end of the powerplay, captain Sanju Samson joined Buttler in the crease. Buttler then responded to Ferguson’s ferocious pace by hitting two straight fours.

After Samson miscued the shot and was caught by Sai Kishore, GT skipper Hardik Pandya inserted himself into the attack and ejected the opposition captain.

At the midway point, RR was positioned at 71/2, with Buttler ensuring the flow of boundaries from one end to the other. After being economical in his opening two overs, Rashid Khan was eventually rewarded with a wicket when Devdutt Padikkal was caught at a backward point.

Pandya took his second wicket to eliminate Buttler, who was caught behind for 39 runs. RR was down to six wickets after losing Shimron Hetmyer and Ravi Ashwin in rapid succession.

Pandya caught and bowled Hetmyer, but David Miller caught Ashwin at long-on off R Sai Kishore’s bowling. After Rahul Tewatia took the catch and Sai Kishore claimed his second wicket, Trent Boult was the next batter to leave.

Rajasthan were unable to mount a late push, as Yash Dayal (1/18) conceded only three runs in the penultimate over.

Shami (1/33) then played a part in getting Obed McCoy (8) Run Out in the final over before sending Riyal Parag’s (15 off 15 balls) off-stump flying with a blistering yorker on the next delivery, leaving RR with a below-average total of 130/9. Stay Tuned with The Sportsway for more updates

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: