How is India’s squad for the T20 series against South Africa?

The official Team India squad for the T20 series against South Africa and the fifth Test match against England was revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday, May 22. Except for a few overlaps, the two versions will be played by almost two separate Indian squads. This series also will help in determining India’s future in the T20 World Cup later this year.

Image Credits:

Due to workload management and the upcoming Test match against England, a number of top players have been rested, as predicted. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Shardul Thakur are among the players who will miss the T20I series because of the Test match. Suryakumar Yadav, on the other hand, is injured and will not play.

With several older players resting, the BCCI has given many young and promising players a chance to shine. For the first time, India’s quickest bowler, Umran Malik, has been selected. Arshdeep Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, and Venkatesh Iyer are among those who played in the previous series against the West Indies and were chosen again.

In the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul will lead the T20 squad. Rishabh Pant will serve as his deputy. When KL Rahul captained the Indian ODI squad during their visit to South Africa, India lost the series 0-3. Given the typical Indian conditions, India would hope to reverse the results.

KL Rahul, the captain, will lead Team India as the first-choice opener, but who will he be accompanied by? Will it be Ishan Kishan, the young and exciting candidate, or Ruturaj, the more steady candidate? Kishan appears to be the better bet of the two for two reasons. One, Ishan Kishan, is a lefty. Thus an LH-RH combo seems to be a strong fit. Second, because Kishan has more experience, he will be chosen first.

With Virat Kohli out, Shreyas Iyer is the best option to bat at number three. With offensive batters to follow, he’ll be a superb anchor. Rishabh Pant, India’s primary wicket-keeper batsman, should play a significant role at number four. Rishabh Pant, who is most known as a finisher, will have to adjust his game to fit the team’s needs. It would also be a fantastic opportunity for him to regain his form after a disappointing IPL.

When it comes to the finishers, the exciting combo of Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik will delight Indian fans. Both have been in great form in the current IPL and will be hoping to keep it up in the T20 World Cup to give Team India a new lease on life. While Hardik can bat at number four as well, DK will almost certainly bat at number six to ensure that the finishing chores are covered.

In the spinners’ category, Yuzvendra Chahal will be the team’s top spinner. He is the purple Cap leader for the IPL 2022 season, and he will be a crucial player in the forthcoming T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, Kuldeep and Chahal would have been a good bet if it hadn’t been for all-rounder Axar Patel. However, because Axar is an all-rounder, he will bat at number 7 as the team’s spin all-rounder.

Being the most experienced pacer in the group, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will head the pace responsibilities for Team India. In the absence of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, he would play a significant role. Harshal Patel, the team’s second pacer, will provide support for Bhuvi. Harshal is in excellent form right now, and he has the most experience of the available bowlers.

The selection of the third pacer will be fascinating. Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan are three excellent choices for India. Each of them has its own distinct qualities to offer. Arshdeep Singh is a fantastic death overs bowler, while Umran has pace and is a good alternative for middle overs. Stay tuned with The Sportsway for more updates.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: