Bhuvneshwar Kumar runs riot as India wins T20I series!

India clinched the T20 series as they defeated England by 49 runs in the second T20 at Birmingham.The victory was India’s 17th win in the last 19 games. India has now won 14 consecutive matches under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled an amazing spell to force England on the back-foot.

Senior Indian players were back for this game. Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, and Jasprit Bumrah were back into the playing XI. They replaced Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan, Axar Patel, and Arshdeep Singh respectively.

Image Credits: TOI

England, on the other hand, made two changes as well. The 34-year-old Richard Gleeson made his international debut. England also got David Willey in the playing XI. They replaced Tymal Mills and Reece Topley.

Jadeja helped a wobbly team India pass the 170-mark in the second T20.

India had a solid start with Rohit Sharma opening with his new partner Rishabh Pant. Rohit and Pant were looking great as they posted 49 runs for their opening partnership in only 4.5 overs. Both Sharma and Pant were ready to launch their innings to the next level but debutant Richard Gleeson had different plans.

Gleeson came into the attack and dismissed Rohit, Kohli, and Pant within a span of his two overs. However, India was stuck with their attacking approach as both Kohli and Pant got out on consecutive deliveries while playing huge shots. Kohli attempted an uncharacteristic shot just on his third delivery as he was dismissed for only 1 run.

The latter batsmen seemed to have followed the same approach regardless of wickets falling. Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya fell on consecutive deliveries as India was reduced to 89-5. Ravindra Jadeja was able to build small partnerships with Dinesh Karthik and the tail to take India to a respectable total of 170. Jadeja top-scored for Men in Blue with a 46* off 29 balls.

India again bowls brilliantly to seal the series.

A total of 170 runs is certainly never safe against the formidable English batting line-up. There was some swing on offer, and India had the best man to exploit that. Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed Jason Roy on the very first ball to give India the edge. Bhuvneshwar then dismissed the dangerous Jos Buttler in his next over. England never really recovered from there because Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Yuzvendra Chahal kept taking wickets at regular intervals. England was dismissed for a total of only 121 runs.

Image Credits:

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was named Player of the Match. India will look to register their sixth whitewash of 2022 in the third T20 in Trent Bridge, Nottingham. Stay Tuned with The Sportsway for more updates!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: